top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMRTT

August Runner of the Month

August Runner of the Month | Julianna Holden





When and why did you start running? I ran youth summer track, as well as road races from age 9 to 18. My parents would often drive me from Waco to DFW to run 5K races. I also ran track and cross country in middle and high school. In college, I got burned out! So I spent the next 20 years or so not exercising at all. Fast forward to Feb 2018 when my mom had a mild heart attack. My Dad is diabetic. I remember sitting in her hospital room thinking this was it. I needed to make a change. I started walking and gradually worked up to running to lose weight and get back to a healthy way of living. Gradually, I worked up to 5K, a 10K, then a few half marathon races. As a child, running was the only thing I thought I was good at. Today, it's a constant reminder of my personal health journey. And, it gives me the chance to reflect on my favorite childhood memories. Nothing can replace that!


First race? It was a one-mile fun run at age 9. Waco had an annual Brazos River Festival with one-mile and five-mile races. My first race as an adult was Take the Cake 5 mile in November 2018. A high school girlfriend had started running a few years before that. She drove from Waco to Ft Worth just to run it with me.




Most recent race? My son and I did the Color Run 5K last weekend. Does that count? Before that was the Shoots & Ladders 10K in June, where I PR'ed!



Favorite piece of gear? My AfterShokz headphones.

What shoes do you run in? Brooks Ghost and nothing else!





Favorite way to cross-train? Camp Gladiator! Kim Dodson and Tracy Tesauro are amazing trainers, who also happen to be in this group!


Best running memory? There are many incredible memories. But one that stands out is the Trinity River Half in November 2019. It was my second Half. I was at around mile 10 and noticed the photographer. I posed, and at that very moment, I felt this overwhelming rush and FINALLY experienced the Runner's High. It's a real thing!!



Bucket List Race?

I would love to run at one of the races at Monterey Bay. It's beautiful, but I hear it's very hilly! I lived in the Bay Area for a couple of years after college, and haven't returned since. I'd love to visit again!


Do you have a favorite distance?

I love 10 miles. Half is too long, and 10K is a tad bit too short. 10 miles is a nice, round number. 🙂




What is something that most people do not know about you? While living in California, I was an assistant coach. Junior High cross country, and High School track for private schools outside of San Francisco.


Favorite tune to rock out to while running? I can't narrow these down, because music while running is a MUST. I listen to playlists with Pop and "Throwback" music mostly.


Best part about running? It's the best opportunity for self-reflection. I love the feeling of accomplishment after a great training run or race. This year, I started running with my 10-year-old. I love that I can do this now!



Who inspires me?

Molly Siedel. I listened to one of her podcasts earlier this year. I've followed her journey. She is an incredible, STRONG, and talented woman!


What has been your biggest challenge so far? I struggle with finding a balance between healthy eating habits and exercise. They have both gone from one extreme to the other. I am getting closer but it's been a long process. Honestly, it's been a complicated road with some dark moments, but I am actively taking steps in the right direction.


Any words of advice? Learn to give yourself grace! Focus on how far you've come - the BIG picture. Don't dwell on your setbacks.





bottom of page