top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMRTT

June Runner of the Month

June Runner of the Month | Kristin Marker


When and why did you start running? In high school I played field sports and really hated to run--I thought it was really boring and I didn't see the point, if I wasn't chasing an opponent or the ball. After college, I ran on and off but still found it to be more of a chore. However, as an adult, I discovered running groups and started to enjoy the social aspect of running. Then, I learned to really enjoy it. Once I had children, running started to become the only time during my days where no one needed me for anything and I could clear my mind.


First race? My first race was the inaugural Rock and Roll half marathon in Los Angeles in 2010. A friend of mine in law school had signed up for it and I said I would join her but had no idea how to train. The race was fun but felt like such a challenge, and I was so physically wiped out when it was over. I wasn't sure I'd be signing up for any other races after that one. Little did I know...


Most recent race? My last race was the Towne Lake half marathon in April, my first in-person race in over a year!


Favorite piece of gear? I'm pretty low-tech, but I run with a Garmin vivoactive HR watch (or else, does it even count?).


What shoes do you run in? I've run in Saucony for the past decade. I wear Kinvara or Guides.

Favorite way to cross-train? I'm pretty terrible about cross-training. I don't have a ton of free time so when I do have it, I run.


Best running memory? Marine Corps in 2019 was quite memorable because the weather was so awful, but also because I'm the most proud of getting through it. It poured down rain for the first 18 miles, and then the sun came out and the humidity and heat were stifling. I chafed more at that race than in any others, but I felt so accomplished when I finished. Marathons are always challenging, but that one was particularly tough. My parents and my kids also had sent me recorded messages to listen to throughout the race, which really helped!


Bucket List Race?

I tend to sign up for whatever races my friends are running, so I don't have a bucket list, per se. However, I would love to run Disney at some point, and I feel I missed out by not running the Los Angeles marathon when I lived there. Given the time, I also would love to do other fun destination runs in the future, but no matter what, it is always more fun with a group!

Do you have a favorite distance?

My answer until recently would have been half marathons. I liked that it took more work to train for half marathons than 5ks or 10ks, but it still was not so time-consuming or physically difficult as training for a full. However, in the past year I have started to really love and appreciate the full marathon distance. I love that it is truly a mental challenge as well as a physical one, and that it takes discipline and intention to do the distance right. I also use marathon training as an excuse to incorporate ice cream and pizza into my training diet :)

What is something that most people do not know about you? My close frunners know this, but I'm very likely the biggest nerd you will meet. I'm currently on a 141-day solve streak of the New York Times crossword puzzle, and I participated in the virtual American Crossword Puzzle Tournament this summer.

Favorite tune to rock out to while running? On long runs I sometimes like audiobooks, but if I'm struggling, I like anything fast with a good bass line. Not way too particular about the tunes.


Best part about running? Hands down, the best part of running has been my MRTT crew. I joined the group when I first moved to Plano in 2018, hoping to find some running buddies and not lose the running progress I had made when training for Houston 2018. Little did I know, I would find my running family with MRTT. The women I run with are so fun, so strong, and so inspiring, and are truly the reason I lace up and hit the pavement. No matter what distance, what race, what pace, I love the time I get to spend with the ladies.


What has been your biggest challenge so far? It was very difficult having to adjust to the effect COVID-19 took on every aspect of life, including running. Starting in 2020, we all had to figure out how we would handle running, without in-person races or big group gatherings. I learned how much I appreciate and cherished my run time with my frunners, when it became my main source of social contact during long weeks of working and schooling at home. The adjustment to racing virtually was also a struggle, but led to exploration of many new challenges, including my first ultra (50k) in October of 2020, which I certainly never would have attempted if we weren't going stir-crazy and missing our races. Definitely glad that in-person races are starting up again!

Any words of advice? I always regret not running--even if it sucks, just get out there.



bottom of page