top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMRTT

July Runner of the Month

July Runner of the Month | Christy Thomas



When and why did you start running? I started running in 2012 because I wanted to lose weight and be a healthy role model for my boys. After a few months, I realized that I enjoyed the exercise and the strong feeling I have after running, and I haven’t stopped!


First race? My first race was the Addison Oktoberfest 5K in 2011. My employer was a sponsor, so I had a free entry. I walked it with a coworker. (No PRs were made that day.) But, I ran that same race 2 years later, and I was able to finish under my goal time of 30 minutes.


Most recent race? My most recent race was the Texas Bluebonnet Half Marathon in McKinney. I love all the races that are close to home!



Favorite piece of gear? My favorite piece of gear would be my Nathan water bottle because it is way too hot in the summer in Texas to run without water!

What shoes do you run in? I run in Brooks Ghost. I just bought the new 14s, and I love them - they are so light!


Favorite way to cross-train? I cross train with Camp Gladiator. I try to check in three times a week. Just hit #200! :)



Best running memory? My best running memory running the Yeti challenge with my friends. We’ve now done it twice! It’s a virtual race where we run 5 miles every 4 hours for 24 hours. I know we were delirious for most of it, and it really hurts during the last two legs, but the memories and the pictures are priceless. I smile when I look at them!


Bucket List Race?

My bucket list race would be the New York Marathon. To me, running is such a great way to really get to know a new area. I love the “tours” I have had by running in unfamiliar places.


Do you have a favorite distance?

My favorite distance would be the half marathon, long enough to make it a good workout, but not so long as to kill myself!

What is something that most people do not know about you? I’m way too crafty for my own good. I like to knit, cross stitch, bake, sew, and make all kinds of things. My friends love my coffee cake mini muffins after running when we celebrate a runner with a birthday run!



Favorite tune to rock out to while running? I only run to music when I’m by myself, which isn’t very often. When I do listen to music, I like to listen to dance music, top hits, or Taylor Swift. Taylor Swift is a pretty awesome running playlist!


Best part about running? The best part of running is the feeling I have when I’m done! I reflect on what I’ve accomplished and how far my feet take me. When I’m driving on the highway and see the signs for the next town or exit, I say to myself, “I could run that!"


Who inspires me?

My FRUNNERS inspire me every day! Every one of them is so positive and they all have different goals, which makes my running better.


What has been your biggest challenge so far? My biggest challenge has been learning to wake up at 4:30am twice a week to run at 5. I like my sleep!


Any words of advice? Some runs are good, some are bad. All of them move you to your goal.




bottom of page